© B. Brandhofer/Mercator-Institut

Board of Trustees

The way in which the Mercator Institute is organized is unique at the University of Cologne: though it belongs to the university’s Faculty of Arts and Humanities, it was created at the initiative of Stiftung Mercator. The Board of Trustees is made up of decision-makers from both the university and the foundation; their job is to clarify questions relating to strategy and fundamental goals. The members of the Board of Trustees jointly decide on the members of the Academic Advisory Council and appoint experts for allocating grants. The Board of Trustees meets once a year.

Members of the Board of Trustees

University of Cologne

Dr. Michael Stückradt, Chancellor of the University of Cologne and Chairman of the Board of Trustees
Prof. Dr. Beatrix Busse, Vice-Rector for Teaching and Learning
Prof. Dr. Monika Schausten, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Prof. Dr. Susanne Zank, Academic Dean of the Faculty of Human Sciences

Mercator Foundation

Dr. Wolfgang Rohe, Chairman of the Board of Management
Christiane von Websky, Director Centre for Participation and Cohesion
Maria Lenk, Project Manager Centre for Participation and Cohesion

Mercator Institute for Literacy and Language Education 

Prof. Dr. Michael Becker-Mrotzek, Director
Isabell-Carola Zieger, Managing Director

back to top